photos 3: back to school edition

January 09, 2010 7:07 p.m.

Me: "Hey, I might stop by the school store to get presents for the fam."
Stan: "Fine, just don't let me see Grandma in a Duke baseball cap."

Photobucket
Oh yes I did.

Photobucket
It helps to have no sense of shame.

Photobucket
And to have hats ready wherever you go.

Photobucket
Yay, Mother Terp! And an uncle who absolutely rocks that wig.

Photobucket
I was at a night market with my aunt when, incredibly, we passed by this sweatshirt on sale. (Pirated, of course, but I'm impressed they got the design and spelling right. When I was little I definitely saw shirts for Nikee and Rcedok.) My aunt actually bought it, but not after trying to bargain down the price with the saleswoman, who claimed that she couldn't lower the price because "this is the last one left. All the red ones have been sold out." Hmm...

PhotobucketIf I ever decide to drop out, this would be the perfect career alternative.

Photobucket...although it would also be a little sad to imagine no Engrish in the world.

I've been back a week and am getting back into the rhythm of things, no thanks to grant and prelim deadlines scooting me along. Still lying awake well before sunrise, though, and picturing exactly what a handful of people across the world are doing at that very moment. I read my journals from the last few times I experienced Taiwan withdrawal and had to roll my eyes at my utter predictability. Oh Irene.

previous | next