the story of my field season

March 21, 2009 4:27 p.m.

So the short version is, this summer I'll be working with red-winged blackbirds in northwestern Pennsylvania and Grand Bahama. Yup. It is so weird to write, all the more because I had completely different plans a month ago. But, for anyone interested, here's how it happened.

Feb. 11: Thinking I am going to Pennsylvania and Sanibel Island in Florida, I submit a proposal to the national wildlife refuge on Sanibel for permits.
Feb. 23: While running around hosting recruits and filling out animal use protocols, I receive an email from the Sanibel park ranger. What's that? Redwings are rare, and trying to find nests on the refuge would be a waste of my time? Well, there go my proposals. Crap.
Feb. 24-March 2: Attempt to regroup. Miami professor reports few redwings across all of south Florida. Post-doc reports no redwings in Bermuda. Half-heartedly entertain thoughts about changing species or questions completely. Throw pity party for self.
March 2: Snow day. Submit animal use protocols, which have been cleverly tweaked to disguise lack of actual plan. Call Merritt Island (FL), Dauphin Island (AL), Little St. Simons Island (GA). All very friendly, none suitable for my research question.
March 3: Back in office, stare at redwing distribution maps and wonder idly if there still are, in fact, redwings in Bermuda. Or the Bahamas. Hey, someone should get on that. Head to library, look up books on New World blackbird family, and stumble on "Field Guide to Birds of the West Indies." Track down author to his current position, dial number and consider opening with the truth: "Hi, I'm a Duke grad student, and I just Googled your name fifty times."
(An aside: The phone number and email he had on file for a key contact were both outdated. More props to Google for helping me strike gold with the right keyword combinations. Lesson: It's not stalking, it's research!)
(Another aside: Obama restores Endangered Species Act provision!)
(March 8: Maryland women's basketball team wins ACC title!)
(March 9: Obama lifts restrictions on stem-cell research!)
March 4-12: Talk to someone new every day. Look at notes and realize how insane this chain of contacts has grown. Decide I would be a very poor journalist, because after two weeks I am exhausted from chasing leads. On the other hand, my project pitch kicks ass.
March 12: Call freaking Bahamian government, reach Ministry of Agriculture and inquire about research application. Foolishly allow faculty member to tell me about poisonwood.
March 16: Submit research application.
(March 17: March Madness!)
(March 19: Stan matches!)
(March 20: Labmate submits thesis to committee. I am thinking "holy crap.")
March 21: Buy ticket. Freeport, here I come.

So it's not so much that I'm preparing for the field season as I've been flung clean into the summer. I was reluctant to tell anyone until I'd gotten enough paperwork done to believe that this craziness was actually happening, and it still feels as though I've been shot out of a cannon�straight to the Caribbean. But it's official, and I'll be back with more details.

Hit it.

previous | next