i'm still here

August 14, 2006 9:42 p.m.

A quick summary: Brent left for Georgia at the beginning of August, and we crewgirls were left to wrap up the season, transcribe videotapes and get the data entry done. We were finally able to take two full days off to hike mountains and go whale-watching last week. Both were awesome, and I can't believe I'm leaving on Wednesday. Oh Maine, I will miss your unimaginably beautiful skies and clouds and trees and water. When can I come back and see them again?

The plan for the rest of the month is to crash for a week at YF's house near Boston and spend the days going downtown and seeing Joel, Jan and possibly Jess. (I will trust that the navigational skills I was forced to develop will stay with me as far as Harvard Square.) Florence's due date is coming up, and my aunt and uncle are flying from Taiwan to be with her and YF. Dad might also meet me in Boston by way of the Chinatown bus, so we'll have a little family soir�e before heading back to Maryland.

I think my reluctance to update is largely caused by the obscene number of photos I've taken, because that means I have all these pictures to post and no time to select or resize them and write captions. But it will get done, I promise.

Anyway, here's one of my favorites. I got a new and wonderful pair of binoculars as a belated birthday present from Mom, and they fit the lens of my camera perfectly. Guess what we saw at Baxter State Park?

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Okay, time for bed. Much more later.

previous | next