Photos 3

August 18, 2006 12:18 a.m.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Some pictures from the three bird-catching days near the end of the season. I got all my handling experience from those days, and now I can (usually) extract birds from mistnets by myself. This female blue jay was so big that she barely tangled itself, and all I had to do was pull the mesh out from her toes. She was gorgeous.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Another stunning bird, the male magnolia warbler in full fiery breeding plumage, looking very put out in Brent's hand.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
And a female ruby-throated hummingbird flew into the net while we were standing right there! She was TINY and incredibly cute. Too bad she blinked.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Moose print! They are huge (~6") and disorienting when you see them for the first time. This hoofprint was in Sunkhaze National Refuge near the apartment, the same one where the mosquitoes ambushed me.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
One of the trails suddenly opens up after the forest trail and leads to an observation platform overlooking Sunkhaze Stream and the surrounding wetland. It became my favorite place to visit, and the day I took this photo I hung around for an hour staring at the sky and the plants before reluctantly heading back. Bonus: Swamp sparrows were breeding and singing here. Oh, memories!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
When I looked up, there was a doe staring straight at me in the middle of the swamp. I have no idea how she got there, and neither of us seemed to want to move, so I shrugged and took a picture through binoculars. Then she blew air through her nostrils and bounded off with her tail held high.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Maine's wild blueberries are famous and really, really good.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
The sky over Sunkhaze on the drive back was amazing. I think I'll keep gushing.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Jan and I went to downtown Bangor, a major city in Maine, later that day. We got there after most of the shops had closed but stopped at Justice Clothing and drooled over an Indian restaurant. Oh, and saw this sign. I hope this store gets business. It sold furniture or something.

Hmm, it's after midnight. I should probably go to bed. Today my cell alarm rang at 6:00 and I couldn't wake up. Alas, I am no longer on a bird schedule...which is probably a good thing.

previous | next