things I have been doing

July 26, 2009 11:47 a.m.

1) I got back from Pennsylvania in early July and hung out with Dad, Stan and various Maryland friends for a week. Stan graduated from med school in May and has begun his residency in Baltimore as a Real Doctor. He brought home his patient notes for us to see, and they are in unintelligible Doctor-ese. Also, it is great that he is back from the distant planet of Minnesota, and strange that I am now the child who lives farthest away.

2) I finally finished writing up the work from Fieldwork 2008. My first paper in grad school! It's a rough draft, and it took an inexcusably long time to turn in...but it's done. Stay tuned for news of the next project (i.e., clutching these blood samples and jumping into the pit of molecular techniques I have no idea how to do).

3) My lease for the new apartment begins in five days. The first week back in Durham I crashed with my cousin; currently I'm stealing guest-room space at a friend's apartment. Yesterday I visited my future landlord, and now I own keys to three places I technically have no right to enter.

4) I can't wait to play around with layout once I'm in the new apartment! Things to consider include: (a) it is tiny but adorable; (b) its partial furnishing means I only really need to hunt for a dining table and kitchenware; and (c) I must be mindful of the fine line between tasteful decor and Bird Lady insane. I already lived through the stage of wearing oversize sweatshirts of kittens and bluebirds. (For fashion faux pas, see every day of middle school.)

5) Regina Spektor's new album is great, and the weather is gorgeous. I am happy.

previous | next